Saturday sweet thang – dark chocolate torte

Chocolate torteRight, you fabulous creatures, it’s a British summertime Saturday and it’s chucking it down. Everything’s dripping wet, so I figured comfort food would be the way to go. This gorgeous wee torte is perfect with a hot cup of coffee (or tea, if that’s your bag…geddit? Tea…bag? Teabag?), you don’t have to cook it and you only need a tiny slice before you’re sated. Minimum input, maximum happiness.

A note: even if, like me, you don’t like coffee cake, I’d suggest leaving even just a bit of coffee in this recipe. If you use just a little coffee, you get the bitterness without the intense coffee flavour.

Dark Chocolate Torte…

Ingredients:

  • 250g dark chocolate
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 568ml carton double cream
  • 2-4 tsp instant coffee, mixed with just enough warm water to make a paste
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • cocoa powder , for dusting

Method:

  1. Break the chocolate in small pieces into a large heatproof bowl. Add the golden syrup and about a quarter of the cream.
  2. Melt the mixture together very gently – either put the bowl on top of a pan of hot water on the lowest heat setting your hob has and leave it until melts (about 15 minutes) or do what I do, and (carefully) use the low setting on the microwave for about five minutes. You have to keep checking and stirring, though. The heating has to be slow and gentle.
  3. Once melted, leave the mixture until it’s barely warm – dip your little finger in to check.
  4. Get your cake tin ready. Line a 20cm spring form or loose-bottomed cake tin with cling film (saran wrap for the Americans!) so you can serve the torte easily later.
  5. Pour the rest of the cream into a very large bowl and add the coffee and cinnamon. Whip with a balloon whisk until the cream is almost set.
  6. Fold in the chocolate mixture using a figure of eight motion. Continue until you’ve got a thick, fluffy mixture that’s almost set. If you’re not sure, just keep going!
  7. Pour the mixture into the tin and level the surface with the back of the spoon. Put the tin in the fridge and leave to firm up overnight (or minimum four hours).
  8. Time to serve. Remove the side of the tin, then press an upside-down serving plate on to the top of the torte, before turning the whole thing over so that the torte is on the plate.
  9. Remove the bottom of the tin and peel off the cling film. Dust all over with cocoa and serve in thin slices with whipped cream or vanilla ice-cream.

This torte can be flavoured with different things, depending on your preference. You could try…

- Leave out the coffee and cinammon, replace with orange liqueur/juice and orange zest (served with candied orange peel on top)

- Leave out the coffee and cinammon, replace with hazelnut syrup/liqueur and ground hazelnuts (served with chopped nuts on top)

- Leave out the coffee and cinammon, replace with peppermint essence and serve with mint leaves on top

It’s up to you :) Happy Saturday!

23 thoughts on “Saturday sweet thang – dark chocolate torte”

    1. Let me know how it turns out if you give it a go – it’s such a simple, no-bake recipe that I find it hard to mess it up!

      I just made the orange version about half an hour ago (I was supposed to be taking it easy this weekend but tempted myself into it!), so that’s settled in the fridge, ready to take to the in-laws tomorrow.

      Out of interest, why the substitution for golden syrup?

      x

      1. This may sound odd, but here goes –
        I don’t know what golden syrup is, so I analyzed it this way:

        honey is golden syrup, and if she means honey, she probably would have said so, then I thought – if it’s corn syrup, which can be clear or dark, I’m not using it, as over 90% of the corn syrup in the USA is GMO, and I don’t use it anyway – then –
        if it’s molasses, she probably would have listed it that way,
        So, the best bet for me is a delicate, organic brown rice syrup. :)

        Instead of saying that I rarely bake, I should have said that I rarely prepare sweets, cakes or cookies, as I do make bread. I’m well known within these walls as a “one skillet wonder.” :D

    1. Apparently Cointreau is the best option of the orange liqueurs out there!

      I don’t drink, so I’ve made it with the zest and juice of one large orange, added slowly into the cream as it’s whipping to prevent it curdling. It’s turned out perfectly :)

      x

  1. This sounds way too good, and I can see the hardest part is waiting until its ready! I like the hazelnut variation suggestion too. This might just make its way to Writer’s Cafe’ some Tuesday night! Ever since we moved to my office when the coffee shops all closed too early, its only ‘Cafe” if we bring something to munch. :)

    1. I think the trick is to make it last thing in the evening (I made the mistake of making it at lunch-time, today, eating half the mixture and putting myself off my dinner!) and leaving it overnight, so you sleep through the hours of longing :D

      Let me know how it goes down at the Writers’ Café if you make it – that’s one thing I really miss about living on the continent: cafés with decent extended opening hours!

      x

      1. Yes, when you said dip a pinky to check it, I was imagining it would be hard to stop at that, especially since there’s no eggs or anything to hurt you if you eat too much while mixing. :) Not sure if I’ll get it made this week, but I’ll definitely let you know how it goes over when I share it with my writing friends.

  2. Yum! I wish it would rain here, so I have a good reason to make this (besides the fact that it looks delicious!). Thanks for stopping by and liking my post.

    1. Any reason is a good reason, honestly. Do you have any idea how purely, supremely happy I am, knowing that this cake is chilling in my fridge?

      I only want the same happiness for my readers. Is that so much to ask? Really?

      Make the torte. Do what’s right.

      x

Leave a Reply

